Baby Gate Hell

Baby Gates. Because nothing makes a new mama feel even more imprisoned and claustrophobic than tiny locked doors all over your house.
Now,I have to say,I found it completely necessary to install baby gates when my son started crawling. He was up and down,in and out, something I’m sure most mums can relate to. But why,oh why,do they have to be so difficult to operate? If someone comes to babysit my kids, I prioritise a lesson in baby gate function over lectures about bedtime routines.
Can’t ‘they’ (I love that,as if the all knowing ‘they’ will sort it for us) come up with some kind of swipecard entry system? Or fingerprint recognition?! The only benefit (apart from the obvious) is that I can ‘lock’ myself in the kitchen and inhale toast in the morning without either of my children being able to get to me.
On that note I’ll finish,one child has just hit the other in the face…with the baby gate.

Author: mamasaidmaybe

Hello! I'm a mother of 2 who writes about the general observations of living with a one and three year old. Some are (hopefully) funny, some sad, some just point out the general frustrations that I'm sure others will relate to. I'm also a nurse so expect the occasional work story too. Thanks for looking!

Leave a comment